The Abyss Stares Back – Split EP

The Abyss Stares Back Cover
EP: The Abyss Stares Back
Bands: The Butters Aliens 
       Twelve Twelve 
Release: 1st May 2020


Three bands from the Birmingham underground punk scene got together and decided to work on a collaboration EP. Their task was for each band to write a song on the theme of Cosmic Horror. This interesting project is finally here as “The Abyss Stares Back” Split EP.

“Rat Trap” is the fist track, which is by The Butter Aliens. The fast pace steady rhythm is very effective in this catchy garage punk tune, which you won’t stop tapping your foot to. The band express their dissatisfaction with the course of modern life which many listeners will relate to.

The second track is “Pills” by Twelve Twelve. It begins with an appealing guitar sound but then takes you to a somewhat dark and slightly disturbing place. The song is all about an expression of dealing with drug addiction and associated issues. This is a sound tune coming from the young band.

The third and last track is “The Beast” by a doom punk trio called  SUE. From start to finish, they demonstrate a fast tempo rock’n’roll sound with a captivating guitar sound. The song is about existential anxiety, which makes you feel that emotion through the energetic and chaotic vocal.

This EP is for you to bear witness to three of the best unsigned bands that the Midlands has to offer right now.






You can purchase and stream the EP, click below;
Apple Music
Google Play

Connect with the bands

the butters aliens profile

The Butters Aliens




twelve twelve profileTwelveTwelve





sue profile











Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s